Skip to main content
  1. SEO glossary/

Pillar Page

2 mins

What is it? #

A Pillar Page is a comprehensive, high-quality piece of content that covers a broad topic and is designed to rank well in search engine results. It is a cornerstone of a website’s content strategy, aiming to provide valuable information to users and establish the website as an authority in its niche. Pillar Pages are typically long-form content, ranging from 2,000 to 5,000 words, and are well-researched, well-written, and well-optimized for search engines. They often include visuals, such as images, videos, and infographics, to enhance the user experience and make the content more engaging. The primary goal of a Pillar Page is to drive organic traffic, increase user engagement, and ultimately contribute to the website’s success in achieving its objectives.

Here are some examples: #

  1. “The Ultimate Guide to Content Marketing” by HubSpot: https://www.hubspot.com/content-marketing
  2. “The Definitive Guide to Social Media Marketing” by Buffer: https://buffer.com/social-media-marketing
  3. “The Comprehensive Guide to SEO” by Moz: https://moz.com/beginners-guide-to-seo
  4. “The Step-by-Step Guide to Building a Website” by Wix: https://www.wix.com/website/builder/web-development
  5. “The Complete Guide to Email Marketing” by Campaign Monitor: https://www.campaignmonitor.com/resources/guides/email-marketing/
  6. “The In-Depth Guide to PPC Advertising” by WordStream: https://www.wordstream.com/ppc
  7. “The Master Guide to Video Marketing” by Animoto: https://animoto.com/blog/video-marketing
  8. “The Essential Guide to Lead Generation” by Marketo: https://www.marketo.com/lead-generation/
  9. “The Comprehensive Guide to Content Strategy” by Copyblogger: https://www.copyblogger.com/content-strategy
  10. “The Definitive Guide to Influencer Marketing” by Hootsuite: https://blog.hootsuite.com/influencer-marketing/

In Summary #

A Pillar Page is a comprehensive, high-quality piece of content that covers a broad topic and is designed to rank well in search engine results. It is a cornerstone of a website’s content strategy, aiming to provide valuable information to users and establish the website as an authority in its niche. Pillar Pages are typically long-form content, ranging from 2,000 to 10,000 words, and are well-researched, well-written, and well-optimized for search engines. They often include visuals, links to relevant resources, and internal links to other content on the website. The goal of a Pillar Page is to attract organic traffic, improve user experience, and ultimately contribute to the website’s success.